The Single Woman’s Guide to Retirement

“The Single Woman’s Guide to Retirement” by Jan Cullinane, author of “The New Retirement,” comes to bookstores this week. Practical and entertaining, it contains checklists and interviews dealing with topics of interest to single women.

When asked why she wrote the book, Jan replied:

It primarily came from the comments I heard from single women after I would give a talk. They would say things like: “Where should I move? Everything seems geared to couples.” “After 30 years of marriage, I’m divorced. I want and need to go back to work. Help me.” “My husband died unexpectedly. I never handled the money. Any suggestions?” “I am happily single, but want to live in a place with a lot of social support after I leave my primary career. What are some possibilities?” “I’m gay. Where I should move?” “I’m ready to return to the dating pool, but haven’t been on a date in 40 years. Where do I start?”

From: TopRetirements.com October 1st, 2012

Leave a Reply

