Let Me Tell You What’s Wrong With Me

By ROZ WARREN

in BOOMING Living Through the Middle Ages

Published: October 31, 2012

“If you’re over 50, there’s something wrong with you. Actually, there are probably several things wrong with you. Nothing too serious, I hope. But you don’t reach our age without having your own unique set of aches and pains.

I’ve got tinnitus, plus a touch of endometriosis. And from time to time, my back goes out. I’ll rise from my bed in the morning, expecting to have an ordinary day and — I can’t stand up without excruciating pain. Ha! The joke’s on me: back to bed! Bring on the ice pack, heating pad, noodle soup and Percocet.

I’ve become used to all of this. Ringing ears, aching ovaries and a bum back can’t slow me down. Well, actually, they do slow me down just a little. But I cope.

In our youth, when we hurt, it rarely lasted. You would pull a muscle or twist an ankle or fall off a horse on your family’s idiotic dude-ranch vacation (Jews on horseback? Whose bright idea was that?) and be out of commission for a bit. But soon you would be good as new.

The ailments we get these days stick around. Once your back goes out, it will probably keep going out. You know darn well that your first hot flash won’t be your last. And once that floater starts grooving around in your left eye, it’s there to stay. (My sister has even named her floater. She calls it Marvin, after the eye doc who told her there was nothing he could do, so she had better learn to live with it.)

It’s a shame that our boomer bodies are deteriorating. On the other hand, if they weren’t, what would we talk about?”

To read the rest of the article go to: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/10/31/booming/let-me-tell-you-whats-wrong-with-me.html?ref=booming

Leave a Reply

